Events

Film screenings happen every Wednesday at 8pm

Outdoor Film screenings are at dusk (sundown) out on the Comfort Station lawn.

Music performances happen every Thursday at 7pm

Art openings happen the first Saturday of every month, and are displayed for the entirety of the month

All other events happen intermittently

 

Back to All Events

Comfort Film and Sweety's presents: Specialties of the House: an exchange of recent radical voices from Bqstqn and Chicagq

  • Comfort Station 2579 N. Milwaukee Ave. Chicago (map)

Specialties of the House: an exchange of recent radical voices from Bqstqn and Chicagq

Video program from Boston-based
Bryan Rodriguez http://bryanrodriguezcambana.info
Danny Bryan Gonzalez daniel-bryan.com
Eduardo Restrepo Castaño eduardorestrepo.com
Julia Pimes cargocollective.com/juliapimesmata 
Luke Hadley
Marlon Forrester marlonforrester.com
Oskar Lawrence Brent Malone oskarmalone.com
Prince Aibangbe vimeo.com/user6354475
Rene Dongo renedongo.com/films
Vianca Lugo vimeo.com/viancalugo

& from Chicago-based 
Alejandro T. Acierto alejandroacierto.com
Amir George amirgeorge.com
Anahita Ghazvinizadeh anahita.mixform.com
Elena Tejada Herrera tejadaherrera.com/videos.html
Holly Chernobyl hollychernobyl.weebly.com & Sara Goodman
James T. Green jamestgreen.com
Jennifer Chan jennifer-chan.com
Phaedra Call phaedracall.com
Rami George ramigeorge.net
and Shawné Michaelain Holloway shawnemichaelainholloway.com

Performances by Bryan Rodriguez (Boston) and Keijaun Thomas (Chicago) vimeo.com/keijaunthomas1 

+ stickers from Sweety’s + posters by Phaedra Call + zines!

Curated by Sweety’s & CHICAGQ

The exchange will be presented parallelly in August 2015 at Samsøn Projects 450 Harrison Avenue &/@ 29 Thayer St. Boston MA.

Sweety’s is a curatorial platform run by artists Julia Pimes Mata, Bryan Rodriguez, Ximena Izquierdo Ugaz and Eduardo Restrepo Castaño. We seek to participate in the Boston art scene by promoting and prioritizing makers of color. Our goal is to make a home for creatives that would otherwise be negated a space due to a practice of confrontation, anger, tongue release, use of codes, subject specificity, personal narratives, backgrounds, not catering to whiteness, non-diplomacy, self-centering, telling the truth, color, trolling, context, placement, displacement, shaming, overabundance, calling-out, etc. Sweety’s is not only activated through flexible programing that speaks from a space between formality and informality but can also be framed as a performative gesture. 
sweetys.info/quienesyporque

The goal of CHICAGQ is to establish inter-city exchanges between radical artistic communities, offering a link between the individual and the art space in cities other than their own and other than New York. Focusing primarily on experimental and DIY works in video and performance, CHICAGQ aims to offer opportunities to artists historically and otherwise disregarded from the exhibition space. CHICAGQ is always looking to branch out. Current curatorial members are Phaedra Call, Bryce Jensen, and Hanna M. Owens. chicagq.tumblr.com

 

 

Facebook event page. https://www.facebook.com/events/830231277057100/

Totally Free.

After the program we will head to the Logan Auditorium down the street for the Comfort Station Kegger fundraiser.