Film screenings happen every Wednesday at 8pm

Outdoor Film screenings are at dusk (sundown) out on the Comfort Station lawn.

Music performances happen every Thursday at 7pm

Art openings happen the first Saturday of every month, and are displayed for the entirety of the month

All other events happen intermittently


Back to All Events

COMFORT MUSIC: James/Landstra/Martins/Mohr + Lonberg-Holm/Zarzutzki

Doors at 7; Music at 7:30

$5 suggested donation
No alcohol permitted

The penultimate Comfort Music show of 2014 will feature an unprecedented improvised set by the programmers of the series:

  • Angela James (voice, loops)
  • Kyle Landstra (synths)
  • Jordan Martins (guitars)
  • Dan Mohr (keyboards)

Fred Lonberg-Holm is an improvisor and composer living in Chicago. Principle projects include his Valentine Trio, Seval, Stirrup, and the Lightbox Orchestra. He is also a member of The Peter Broetzmann Chicago 10tet, Joe McPhee's Survival Unit III, Friction Brothers and Fast Citizens. Improvisors he has worked with include Clare Cooper, Charlotte Hug, Andrea Neumann, Shelly Hirsch, Carrie Shull, Jaimie Branch, Carrie Biolo, Birgitte Uhler, Rachel Wadham, Mary Halverson, Joelle Leandre, Joanne Powers, Zeena Parkins, Judy Dunaway, Lotte Anker as well as a number of guys. He has recorded solo records for the Emanem and FlyingAspidistra labels. Over the years he has been credited for work on dozens of jazz, rock, pop, contemporary classical and country records, including those by The Boxhead Ensemble, Wilco, Freakwater, Vandermark 5, US Maple, Guillermo Gregorio, God Is My Co-Pilot, Anthony Coleman, Kaki King, Jim O'Rourke, Bobby Conn, and The Flying Luttenbachers.

 Fred Lonberg-Holm

Fred Lonberg-Holm

One of Chicago's improvisers, Aaron Zarzutzki performs weekly in and around the city playing free jazz, EAI, noise, and house music as well as work in the visual arts. Known for his self made electronics and as a turntablist, he has performed with many artists including Nick Hoffman, Brent Gutzeit, Joshua Manchester, Kevin Drumm, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Takahiro Kawaguchi, among many others. He is a member of Green Pasture Happiness alongside Brian Labycz and Daniel Fandiño.

Facebook Event